Scottish Cup 2020/21 format confirmed


The Scottish FA have today confirmed the format for the 2020/21 Scottish Cup, with revised competition rules as a result of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The condensed competition, with fewer rounds than normal, will begin with the Preliminary Round One on 28 November.

Key changes to the format for 2020/21 include:

  • The removal of replays for all matches, with the outcome of any drawn match being determined by extra time and penalties, if required.

  • The entry point of clubs to the competition and the number of ties in each round.

  • The requirement to attempt to re-schedule any postponed match in the Preliminary Rounds, Round One and Round Two, during the first midweek after the original match date.

  • The number of substitutes permitted in a match will revert back to three, with an additional one permitted in any period of extra-time.

Clubs eligible to participate will be given the option to decline to do so if they decide that they cannot meet the requirements. Clubs that decline to enter the competition will not be penalised financially and will still receive the bonus payment, equivalent to them being eliminated at the round they would otherwise enter.

All existing participation requirements apply along with the following additional requirements:

  • Changing facilities for both teams and match officials must be available and must comply with all relevant COVID legislation and regulations as outlined here. Further detailed information on changing facilities will be published by the Scottish FA within the next few days. Clubs will be required to provide confirmation of approval of their facilities from their respective League prior to their participation in the competition.

  • From Round Three onwards, clubs drawn to play against SPFL Premiership teams must comply with the relevant COVID testing regime which applies at that time or as directed by the Scottish FA Board.

  • Compliance with the relevant Match day Protocol(s) which the Scottish FA/Joint Response Group considers appropriate and issues at the relevant time.

The schedule and entry point of clubs is as follows:


30 clubs (8 ties and 14 byes)

1 club from the East of Scotland Football League:

  • Musselburgh Athletic (South & East Cup Winners Shield Winners)

1 Club from the Scottish Junior FA

  • Auchinleck Talbot (West Junior Super League Winners)

28 Clubs from the ESL, SSL and Other Leagues:

  • Banks O’Dee

  • Blackburn United

  • Broxburn Athletic

  • Burntisland Shipyard

  • Camelon

  • Coldstream

  • Dundonald Bluebell

  • Dunipace

  • Easthouses Lily MWFC

  • Girvan

  • Glasgow University

  • Golspie Sutherland

  • Haddington Athletic

  • Hawick Royal Albert United

  • Hill of Beath Hawthorn

  • Jeanfield Swifts

  • Linlithgow Rose

  • Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale

  • Newtongrange Star

  • Newton Stewart

  • Penicuik Athletic

  • Preston Athletic

  • St Cuthbert Wanderers

  • Threave Rovers

  • Tranent Juniors

  • Tynecastle

  • Whitehill Welfare

  • Wigtown & Bladnoch


52 Clubs (26 ties)

8 Preliminary Competition Round One Winners

14 Preliminary Competition Round One Byes (from the ESL, SSL and Other Leagues NCL Approved)

15 Clubs from the Scottish Highland Football League:

  • Buckie Thistle

  • Clachnacuddin

  • Deveronvale

  • Formartine United

  • Forres Mechanics

  • Fort William

  • Fraserburgh

  • Huntly

  • Inverurie Loco Works

  • Keith

  • Lossiemouth

  • Nairn County

  • Rothes

  • Strathspey Thistle

  • Turriff United

  • Wick Academy

15 Clubs from the Scottish Lowland Football League:

  • Berwick Rangers

  • Bo’ness United

  • BSC Glasgow

  • Caledonian Braves

  • Civil Service Strollers

  • Cumbernauld Colts

  • Dalbeattie Star

  • East Kilbride

  • East Stirlingshire

  • Edinburgh University

  • Gala Fairydean Rovers

  • Gretna 2008

  • Spartans

  • University of Stirling

  • Vale of Leithen

ROUND ONE – Saturday 26 December 2020

40 Clubs (20 ties)

26 Preliminary Round Competition Winners

2 Clubs from the Scottish Highland Football League:

  • Brora Rangers (SHFL Runners Up)

  • Fraserburgh (SLFL Runners Up)

2 Clubs from the Scottish Lowland Football League:

  • Kelty Hearts (SLFL Winners)

  • Bonnyrigg Rose Athletic (SLFL Runners Up)

10 clubs from the Scottish Professional Football League 2:

  • Albion Rovers

  • Annan Athletic

  • Brechin City